Drug Development with Macrocycles
Tutorial Created with Software Release: 2026-2
Topics: Hit-to-Lead & Lead Optimization , Medicinal Chemistry Design , Small Molecule Drug Discovery
Products Used: FEP+ , Glide , Ligand Designer , Prime
|
343 MB |
This tutorial is written for use with a 3-button mouse with a scroll wheel.
Words found in the Glossary of Terms are shown like this: Workspacethe 3D display area in the center of the main window, where molecular structures are displayed
Abstract:
This tutorial demonstrates tools within the Small Molecule Drug Discovery suite that can be applied to research projects with macrocycles. We will cover conformational sampling, docking, and lead optimization techniques.
Tutorial Content
1. Preparing the Protein and Ligands
Structure files obtained from the PDB, vendors, and other sources often lack necessary information to perform modeling-related tasks. Typically, these files are missing hydrogens, partial charges, side chains, and/or whole loop regions. In order to make structures suitable for modeling tasks, we use the Protein Preparation Workflow to resolve common issues. Similarly, ligand files can be sourced from numerous places, often in the form of 1D or 2D structures with unstandardized chemistry. LigPrep can convert ligand files to 3D structures, with the chemistry properly standardized and extrapolated, for use in virtual screening. In this tutorial, the protein and ligands have already been prepared to save time. However, these preparation steps are critical to virtual screening and must be done before docking. Please see the Introduction to Structure Preparation and Visualization tutorial for instructions on using the Protein Preparation Workflow and LigPrep. The 2WER protein complex was prepared with an earlier version of the software so your results may differ slightly if you do not use the provided files in this tutorial.
2. Creating Projects and Importing Structures
At the start of the session, change the file path to your chosen Working Directorythe location where files are saved in Maestro to make file navigation easier. Each session in Maestro begins with a default Scratch Projecta temporary project in which work is not saved, closing a scratch project removes all current work and begins a new scratch project, which is not saved. A Maestro project stores all your data and has a .prj extension. A project may contain numerous entries corresponding to imported structures, as well as the output of modeling-related tasks. Once a project is created, the project is automatically saved each time a change is made.
Structures can be imported from the PDB directly, or from your Working Directorythe location where files are saved using File > Import Structures, and are added to the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion and Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data. The Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion table is located to the left of the Workspace. The Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data can be accessed by Ctrl+T (Cmd+T) or Window > Project Table if you would like to see an expanded view of your project data.
2.1 Load pre-installed files into the Working Directory
- Double-click the Maestro icon.
- (No icon? See Starting Maestro)
- Go to File > Change Working Directory.
- Find your directory, and click Choose.
- Pre-generated input and results files are included for running jobs or examining output. Download the zip file here: https://www.schrodinger.com/sites/default/files/s3/release/current/Tutorials/zip/drug_development_macrocycles.zip
- After downloading the zip file, unzip the contents in your Working Directorythe location where files are saved for ease of access throughout the tutorial.
2.2 Save project in the Working Directory
- Go to File > Save Project As.
- Change the File name to macrocycle_tutorial.
- Click Save.
- The project is named
macrocycle_tutorial.prj.
- The project is named
- Go to File > Import Structures.
- Choose prepped_complex_2WER.
- Click Open.
- Structure is in the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion and Workspace.
Note: To save time, this structure has already been prepared using the Protein Preparation Workflow.
3. Sampling Macrocycles Using Prime
In this section, you will calculate different conformations of a macrocyclic ligand. The conformations will be aligned and interactions with the receptor visualized.
3.1 Set up Sampling Calculation
- In the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion, right-click prepped_complex_2WER.
- Choose Split > Into Ligands, Water, Other.
- Four new entries are added.
- Includethe entry is represented in the Workspace, the circle in the In column is blue and select(1) the atoms are chosen in the Workspace. These atoms are referred to as "the selection" or "the atom selection". Workspace operations are performed on the selected atoms. (2) The entry is chosen in the Entries (and Project Table) and the row for the entry is highlighted. Project operations are performed on all selected entries prepped_complex_2WER_ligand1.
- Type Z to fit the ligand to the Workspace.
- Find and open the Macrocycle Sampling panel from the Tasks.
- For Use structures from, choose Workspace.
- For Sampling intensity (target # of conformers), choose Fast (100).
- Change the Job name to macrocycle_2WER.
- Click the Job Settings (cog) button.
- For Incorporate, choose Append new entries as a new group.
- For Total, type 4.
- Click Run.
- This job takes ~ 1 minute to run
- A banner appears when the job is incorporated.
- A new group prepped_complex_2WER_ligand1 (Conformations) is added to the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion.
- Close the Prime Macrocycle Sampling panel.
3.2 Visualize the Results
- Click View in Project in the banner.
- All the entries in the newly added group are selected in the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion table.
- Ctrl+click (Cmd+Click) to also select(1) the atoms are chosen in the Workspace. These atoms are referred to as "the selection" or "the atom selection". Workspace operations are performed on the selected atoms. (2) The entry is chosen in the Entries (and Project Table) and the row for the entry is highlighted. Project operations are performed on all selected entries prepped_complex_2WER_ligand1.
- Find and open the Superposition panel from the Tasks.
Superposition will use the first selected ligand in the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion as the reference ligand for the alignment.
- Under Superimpose entries from, choose Project Table (selected).
- For Reference structure, choose 2: prepped_complex_2WER_ligand1.
- Check Add property to Project Table.
- For Define structure for superposition using, choose ASL.
- Click All.
- Click Superimpose Structure.
- Structures are superimposed.
- RMS values are shown in the Results section.
- Close the Superposition panel.
- In the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion, right-click the group prepped_complex_2WER_ligand1 (Conformations) (39).
- Choose Include.
- In the Warning box, click Continue.
- All entries in the group are includedthe entry is represented in the Workspace, the circle in the In column is blue in the Workspace.
- Structures are somewhat aligned.
- In the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion, click the Change table settings icon (three vertical dots).
- Choose Show Property.
- The Show Properties in Table dialog box opens.
- Click Choose.
- In the search bar, type Prime.
- Choose Prime Energy and click OK.
- Prime Energy is added to the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion table.
- You may need to click and drag the edge of the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion table toward the right to see the added property.
- Double-click the In circle of prepped_complex_2WER_protein
- The protein is fixed in the Workspace.
4. Docking a Macrocycle Cognate Ligand
In this section, you will dock the cognate macrocycle ligand using the Macrocycle Docking panel and compare the docked pose to the crystal structure pose. The Macrocycle Docking panel uses the MacroDock protocol that combines Prime-MCS and traditional Glide docking in a way that generates superior poses to Glide macrocycle mode. Ring conformers are pre-sampled with Prime-MCS, similarly to Glide. Ring conformers are filtered by energy with a Z-score cutoff and for each remaining ring conformer, we launch individual Glide docking jobs where the ring is not sampled further. This is an important step to prevent conformational dilution and in turn maximize R-group sampling. Glide jobs are also launched with an expanded sampling funnel to further capture the conformational complexity of this class of ligands. The top 1 pose from each Glide docking job is then rescored vs. all other poses with a composite scoring function that incorporates the Glide energy and the Prime implicit solvent energy from the macrocycle-receptor complex.
Figure: Schematic of MacroDock workflow.
Note that MacroDock generates higher quality poses as compared to the Glide macrocycle mode, but at the expense of more compute time. If you want to dock your structures using the Glide macrocycle mode, please consult the tutorial created using an older version of the software.
The model system used is a mutant complex of yeast HSP90 N-terminal domain LI-IV bound to the ligand radicicol. The ligand has been randomized so that the information regarding the native pose is not used for docking.
4.1 Dock the cognate ligand
- Includethe entry is represented in the Workspace, the circle in the In column is blue prepped_complex_2WER in the Workspace.
- Find and open the Macrocycle Docking panel from the Tasks.
Note: There are two ligands bound to the protein. In subsequent steps, either one of these ligand sites can be used for docking.
- For Receptor, click Load Workspace.
- For Box center, choose Centroid of ligand.
Note: By default, the panel selects a ligand to center the box around. To specify a different ligand when multiple ligands are present, check the "Pick" box and select your preferred ligand from the Workspace.
- For Ligands to dock, choose File and click Browse next to it.
- Navigate to and choose
randomized_radicicol.maegzin your Working Directorythe location where files are saved.
Note: The cognate ligand has been prepared using LigPrep and its initial conformation is essentially randomized so that it will not affect or bias the docking towards the cocrystal pose.
- Change the Job name to macrocycle_docking_2WER-cognate.
- Click Run.
- This job takes ~ 10 minutes to finish.
- Pre-generated results are included in the tutorial files.
- A banner appears once the job is completed and a new group macrocycle_docking_2WER-cognate-out is added to the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion table.
- Close the Macrocycle Docking panel.
4.2 Visualize the docked poses
Figure 4-4. Setting up the Workspace and applying Binding Mode Comparison Preset to visualize the docked poses.
Optional: If you did not run the job yourself, you go to File > Import Structures and choose macrocycle_docking_2WER-cognate-out.maegz from the tutorial files.
- Double-click the In circle of the prepped_complex_2WER to fix it.
- Shift+click to includethe entry is represented in the Workspace, the circle in the In column is blue all the docked poses in the Workspace.
- Go to Presets and choose Binding Mode Comparison.
- Take your time to step through the docked poses.
5. Predicting Membrane Permeability
In this section, you will use the Prime Membrane Permeability tool to predict the membrane permeability of a series of non-peptidic macrocycles. The macrocycles are part of the Broad Institute’s Diversity-Oriented Screening collection, and the associated assay data is from Over et al. The Structure-Based Membrane Permeability Predictor calculates an estimated membrane permeability for a ligand structure by comparing the energy optimized conformations of the ligand in a low and high dielectric environment. You will generate dG Membrane Insert values, and plot them against the Caco2 permeability assay results to determine their correlation.
5.1 Run Membrane Permeability Prediction
- Click File > Import Structures.
- Navigate to and choose
over_combined.maein the tutorial files. - Click Open.
- Structures are added to the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion.
- Find and open the Membrane Permeability panel from the Tasks.
- Next to Use structures from, choose Project Table (200 selected entries).
- Change Job name to membrane_permeability_over.
- Optional: Click Run.
- This job is time intensive.
- The pregenerated results are included in the tutorial files.
- To save time, you will look at the pregenerated results.
5.2 Analyze Membrane Permeability Results
- Go to File > Import Structures.
- Choose membrane_permeability_over-out.mae.
- Click Open.
- Structures are added to the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion.
- Click the Table button on the top right to open the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data.
Note: The Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data can also be opened by pressing Ctrl+T/Cmd+T.
Figure 5-5. Showing the reference and predicted membrane permeability properties in the project table.
We have added an experimental reference value for the Caco2 membrane permeability (in cm/s x 10-6), to which you can now compare the results of the calculation.
- Click the All checkbox twice to hide all the properties.
- Expand All and further expand Added by user and check the box next to it.
- The Caco2(cm/s) property is shown in the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data.
- Search for membrane.
- Check the box to add Membrane dG Insert.
- The Membrane dG Insert property is shown in the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data.
You need to convert the experimental reference to the same scale as the calculation by taking the logarithm.
- In the top right corner of the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data, open the Gadgets Menu and choose Equation Calculator.
- The Property Calculator opens.
- Fill in the name of the new property as log10_Caco2.
- Click the Functions button and choose log10.
- Click the Properties button and choose Caco2(cm/s).
- Click ).
By default, the calculation would be applied to every Entry in the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data, but you are only interested in the membrane_permeability_over-out group, so you can limit the calculation to the selected Entries.
- Check the box for Selected Rows Only.
- Click Execute.
- A new column with the log of the Caco2 values is added to the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data.
Now, you can visualize the correlation between the prediction and the reference.
- In the top right corner of the Project Table, open the Gadgets Menu and choose Chart Manager.
- In the Manage Charts Panel, click Create and choose Scatterplot.
- Choose log10 Caco2 for the x-axis.
- Choose Membrane dG Insert for the y-axis.
- Check Best fit line.
- A best fit line is added to the scatter plot.
- The equation of the Best fit line as well as the R2 are now visible.
- Check the box next to the Plot title.
- The plot is now titled Membrane dG Insert vs. log10 Caco2.
Note: You can hover over the individual points in the scatter plot to see the structure of the corresponding ligand and identify and investigate outliers.
The experimental permeability is inversely proportional to the calculated membrane dG insert, as the latter is a computational estimate for the barrier for entry into the membrane. Phrased differently, the higher “membrane dG insert”, the harder it is for the compound to enter the membrane, and the lower its permeability.
Optional: You can now save your plot as a graphic to use outside of Maestro.
- Change Save name to Membrane dG Insert vs. log10 Caco2.
- Click Save.
- A copy of the generated scatter plot is now saved in your desired destination.
6. Automated Cyclization
You will use Cyclize Ligands workflow in the Ligand Designer to enumerate macrocycles with different linkers. This can be used to optimize the linker for a pre-existing macrocycle, or to find a linker that can stabilize a linear bioactive molecule.
- Go to File > Import Structures.
- Navigate to and choose
2E9P_cyclize.maeand click Open. - Use Shift+Click to include both 2e9p ligand and 2e9p - minimized.
- Find and open the Ligand Designer panel from the Tasks.
- Click Analyze Workspace.
- A new group Ligand Designer with two entries is added to the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion table.
- The Workspace now has just a single ligand and a cloud surrounding it to represent the growth space.
Note: You can uncheck Adjust view when analyzing to retain the previous view in the Workspace.
- Click Workflows and select Macrocyclization.
- Click Enumerate.
- The exact number of returned ligands and the duration of the job can vary depending on the software version you are using.
- You can find the results of the macrocyclization in the outputs folder of the tutorial files as
2e9p_cyclized_ligands.maegz.
Note: The darker blue growth space indicates the region is solvent exposed, and the lighter blue indicates more buried regions in the protein.
By clicking the filter icon next to Enumerate, you can filter out your outputs by various properties.
By clicking the cog icon you can choose which spacers to use from a list, or even define a custom spacer. If multiple spacers are selected, combinations of the different spacers will be considered during the enumeration.
- Click the right arrow in the Ligand Designer.
- C_1 is now included in the Workspace.
- The radar plot updates with the properties of the new compound.
Note: If you want to see the cyclized ligands in the context of the binding pocket, you can toggle on the Ligand-Receptor interactions or include the 2e9p - minimized protein structure in the Workspace.
- Right-click the Cyclized – 2e9p ligand group and choose Include to includethe entry is represented in the Workspace, the circle in the In column is blue all the entries in the Workspace.
- The enumerated macrocycles are all overlaid in the Workspace.
- Type Ctrl+L (Cmd+L) to tile the Workspace.
- The enumerated structures are visualized.
- Close the Ligand Designer panel.
- Right-click anywhere in the empty workspace and choose Clear Workspace.
Note: See the Forming Protein-Ligand Interactions with the Ligand Designer tutorial for examples of how to sort and filter enumeration outputs.
7. Predicting Macrocycle Bioactive Conformation Propensity
In this section, you will follow up on the cyclized ligand ideas you generated and investigate how likely they are to adopt a conformation close to the bioactive one defined by the original 2E9P ligand.
7.1 Predict the Bioactive Conformation Propensity
- Includethe entry is represented in the Workspace, the circle in the In column is blue 2e9p ligand in the Workspace.
- Ctrl+click (Cmd+click) to select 2e9p ligand in the Entriesa simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion.
Note: If you did not run the enumeration in the last section yourself, you can find the enumerated ligands in the outputs directory of the tutorial files as 2e9p_cyclized_ligands.maegz and import them.
- In the Workspace, select all the atoms from 2e9p ligand from 08 to 020.
- Find and open the Macrocycle Propensity panel from the Tasks.
- The Macrocycle Bioactive Conformation Propensity panel opens.
- For Use macrocycles from, choose Project Table.
- For Sampling, select Perform macrocycle sampling.
- For Use reference from, choose Workspace (included entry).
- For Common atoms important for activity, select Get from Workspace Selection.
- Change the Job name to macro_2e9p_propensity.
- Optional: Click Run.
- This job is time intensive. We advise against running this job.
- The pregenerated results are included in the tutorial files.
- To save time, you will look at the pregenerated results.
7.2 View the Pregenerated Results
- Go to File > Import Structures.
- Navigate to and choose
macro_2e9p_propensity_stability-out.maegzand click Open.- This may take some time.
- Open the Project Table.
- In the Property Tree, search for “stability”, and check the boxes for stability prob metric below thresh and stability metric expval.
- Stability prob metric below thresh and stability metric expval are added to the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data.
- Close the Project Tabledisplays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data once you have finished viewing the properties.
Stability prob metric below thresh is the probability of finding conformations with an RMSD of less than X, where X is specified in this panel. This is the sum of the Boltzmann probabilities over conformations for which the RMSD is less than X. Stability metric expval is calculated by weighting the RMSD value for each conformation by the Boltzmann probability for that conformation, and summing this product for all conformations.
Note: Determining whether stability metric expval or stability prob metric below thresh would be most useful in assessing the viability of various linkers depends largely on the specifics of the system. For systems where low RMSD is associated with better binding, expval is a more useful value to follow. For systems where the more often you find low RMSD is associated with better binding, stability prob metric below thresh is a more useful value to follow. Usually these values agree with each other, but when they do not, it is best to work off of prior knowledge of the system.
8. Optimizing Macrocycles with FEP+ (Optional)
In this section, you will use FEP+ to assist with the lead optimization of MHT1 inhibitors. You will evaluate how the binding affinity changes upon cyclization of the linear ligand into the macrocycle. The receptor in this section has already been prepared using the Protein Preparation Workflow and the ligands have been aligned. These steps have been done to save time for the tutorial, but are essential when setting up FEP+ calculations. Please see the FEP+ User Manual and the BACE1 Inhibitor Design Using Free Energy Perturbation tutorial for more information on FEP+ considerations and requirements.
8.1 Set up FEP+ Calculation
- Click File > Import Structures.
- Navigate to and choose
Macrocycle_Ligands.maein the tutorial files. - Click Open.
- For Import structures or perturbation map from, choose Project Table (4 selected entries).
- Click Import.
- The Receptor name and Total ligands populates.
Note: If the automatic checks identify potential issues with the receptor or missing torsion parameters for the ligands, you would see yellow warning triangles rather than the green OK and checkmark. You could then investigate and potentially correct the issues by hovering over or clicking the warning signs. If needed, run Force Field Builder if needed before proceeding with the calculation.
- Click Relative.
Note that this toy data set of three ligands is much too small to validate an FEP+ model for prospective use in a real project! We recommend using a set of 10 – 20 ligands with associated experimental data spanning multiple orders of magnitude on the affinity scale. See the FEP+ Best Practices for more details.
- Switch to the Map tab.
- Click Affinity and choose Experimental Data.
- The Choose Affinity Property dialog box opens.
- Choose exp dG (user).
- Click OK.
- Experimental affinity data is added to the Summary table.
- Click Generate Map
- The Map Options panel opens.
- Next to Map topology type, choose Optimal.
- Click Generate Map.
- This job will take ~ 1 minute to run.
- A map is generated connecting the ligands.
- Click Display perturbation properties.
- Choose Experimental ddG and Similarity scores.
- The values are shown on the map edges.
- Change the Job name to FEPMapperJob_5ANT.
The orange-highlighted info icon is to be expected because there is no .fmpdb file associated with this map yet. You can click on the icon to see the various checks being run in the background. See Troubleshooting Common Issues for more information.
A standard 5 ns production run can frequently be too short for macrocycles, so we recommend running all legs for 20 ns.
- Click Settings.
- In the Simulation Parameters section, change the Simulation time for the Complex stage to 20.0.
- Check the box for match to apply the same simulation length to all stages.
Note: If your ligands are missing torsion parameters, you can check the Generate missing parameters with Force Field Builder option to run parametrization as part of the FEP+ job. If you already have parameters for your ligands, you can check the Use customized version option and load them in by clicking the three dot button.
- Click OK.
This is a compute-intensive job, so you may want to run it on a high-performance computing cluster. You can specify the CPU and GPU hosts to use here.
- Click the Job Settings (cog) icon.
- The Job Settings dialog box opens.
- Choose your CPU host and GPU host.
- Do not click Run.
- To save time, you will look at the pre-generated results.
8.2 Analyze the FEP+ Results
- Find and open the FEP+ panel from the Tasks.
- For Import structures or perturbation map from, choose File.
- Click Browse.
- Choose
FEPMapperJob_5ANT_out.fmp. - Click Next.
A first look should go to the correlation plot, although with only three ligands in the map, the associated statistics are not robust.
- Click Plot.
- The Correlation Plot (FEP+) panel opens.
When looking at your own data, you will want to see RMSE values < 1.3 kcal/mol over the validation set ligands to feel confident in moving to prospective use of the FEP+ model. If your model is insufficiently predictive, you will have to do some more in-depth troubleshooting.
You can check the Analysis tab for a more detailed overview of the individual edges in the map and identifying potential issues.
- In the FEP+ panel, go to the Analysis tab.
- Hover your mouse pointer over one of the cells labeled Bad to see more details.
- Optional: Click the View button in the Edge Analysis column for one of the edges to dig deeper into potential issues.
For more information on FEP+ results analysis see the BACE1 Inhibitor Design Using Free Energy Perturbation tutorial.
9. Conclusion and References
In this tutorial, you used several tools to design and evaluate macrocycles in the context of drug development. You generated and aligned different conformers of a macrocycle, then docked a macrocycle ligand into its binding pocket to reproduce the experimental pose. Next, you predicted the passive membrane permeability of a set of macrocycles and plotted it against Caco2 permeability assay results. You then generated various linker variations of a macrocycle with the Ligand Designer and predicted and analyzed their bioactive conformation propensities. Finally, you set up and performed an FEP+ calculation on a small toy data set and looked into the results.
For further learning:
- Introduction to Structure Preparation and Visualization
- Structure-Based Virtual Screening Using Glide
- Introduction to Molecular Modeling in Drug Discovery Online Course
- Designing quality ligand libraries online course
- Target enablement, preparation, & validation online course
- Virtual screening with integrated physics & machine learning online course
- BACE1 Inhibitor Design Using Free Energy Perturbation
10. Glossary of Terms
Entries - a simplified view of the Project Table that allows you to perform basic operations such as selection and inclusion
Included - the entry is represented in the Workspace, the circle in the In column is blue
Project Table - displays the contents of a project and is also an interface for performing operations on selected entries, viewing properties, and organizing structures and data
Recent actions - This is a list of your recent actions, which you can use to reopen a panel, displayed below the Browse row. (Right-click to delete.)
Scratch Project - a temporary project in which work is not saved, closing a scratch project removes all current work and begins a new scratch project
Selected - (1) the atoms are chosen in the Workspace. These atoms are referred to as "the selection" or "the atom selection". Workspace operations are performed on the selected atoms. (2) The entry is chosen in the Entries (and Project Table) and the row for the entry is highlighted. Project operations are performed on all selected entries
Working Directory - the location where files are saved


















































